sending warmth

Image

Operation Gratitude is a non-profit that collects handmade scarves (among other things) to send to American troops overseas. I found the organization online when I was looking for a serviceperson to “adopt” for the holidays. Unfortunately, none of the programs I found received credible reviews from the Better Business Bureau’s Charity leg, and Operation Gratitude did. I used this pattern on Lion Brand’s website (you may need to be logged in to see it) and crocheted this gray scarf for their annual scarf drive.

The 16 (sometimes) adorable preschoolers at my immediate disposal are helpful in projects like these. We took a picture walk through Eve Bunting’s touching book, The Wall, and talked about how our country has heroes who are making sacrifices far away from home. As expected, they wanted to make a card to send along with my scarf, and I’m hopeful my package warms the deserving recipient’s heart AND neck.

Image

And if you needed proof that karma really does exist, as I was waiting for 45 (!) minutes at the Cleveland Park Post Office to send my package, my phone buzzed with a new email. My former boss and coworkers from my former office surprised me with a $150 Amazon gift credit to spend on my classroom. What goes around, comes around.

2 thoughts on “sending warmth

  1. Pingback: loving last week | yesterday's to do list

Leave a Reply

