TO DO [sunday edition]

It took me a while to warm up to D.C. Okay, a long while. But I remember the first Sunday I drove past Eastern Market. I’m embarrassed to say I had been living, clueless, in Old Town Alexandria for almost 8 whole months at the time, and I was in D.C. helping clean up a school before the beginning of the school year. When I drove by it, I froze, thinking how lucky I was to happen to be driving down this road on the very same day of some fantastic fair. Wait, what. This happens every week? And there are more all over the city? Magical.

Now that I’m living in Northwest, the Dupont Circle farmer’s market is a must-stop for me every Sunday (year round!). My favorite vendor? Hands down Everona Dairy, which makes the most amazing marble cheese you need to try.

I would recommend you go early, because they’re known to sell out of the marble, and then head over to the Beacon Hotel for their Sunday champagne brunch with bottomless mimosas or bloody marys, fantastic service and a trendy ambience.

[top image via]

2 thoughts on “TO DO [sunday edition]

Leave a Reply

